6 Comments
Mar 15Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

My first car which my parents gave me for my 16th birthday…a two-door, white with red seats and slanted antenna off the back, 1963 Chevrolet Super Sport. It had a V8 engine and would fly.

As an adult, my favorite gift was an extended trip to Maui from my husband for my 60th bday.

I was surprised I really had to stop and think about this question. Thanks for asking a thoughtful question.

Happy happy birthday!!

Expand full comment
author

Joan! OMG. I LOVE this so hard! White with red seats....zowie!!! Please, please tell me there is a photo of you in this sweet car. And gosh, the Maui trip is pretty fabulous too! So glad you weighed in here. XO.

Expand full comment
Mar 15Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

Wait, my birthday is Wednesday AND I was just looking at Royal typewriters on eBay....happy birthday friend :)

Expand full comment
author

Haha! I think I knew you were a mid March baby too! Hooray for typewriters. Don't forget to check shopgoodwill.com too. ;-) Happy birthday!

Expand full comment
Mar 15Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

We did get the car for our sweet 16 (my twin sister and I got one to share) - a golden brown 1965 Chevy impala.

But that wasn’t my best birthday present ever - it was the year (10? 11?) my Granny & Granddad gave me a monthly allotment at the Lewis Meyer Bookstore in Tulsa, Oklahoma. I could walk to it from my house without crossing any major streets, it was like 4 blocks away. If I was smart with my money I could get 2-3 books per visit. I devoured books every spend a could (a favorite at that time was The Farthest Away Mountain by Lynne Reid Banks) and this gift gave me a little freedom, the ability to shop on my own terms, and more books!!! Second best: a tiny entry-level Pfaff sewing machine for my 12th birthday. I finally upgraded in 2013, but my old one still works!

PS: that tray is LOVELY- and Happy Birthday!

Expand full comment
author

Wow, Carrie! So glad to hear about these amazing gifts. A monthly allowance at a bookstore is a total dream gift. Your Granny and Grandad knew little Carrie really well. :-) I hope Joan (above) reads this; she'd appreciate the sewing machine gift too!

Expand full comment