14 Comments
Mar 29Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

I clearly have some internal work to do, because all of your morning schedules are making me feel extremely unproductive! And now I am flooded with shame. Not really. OK, a little bit.

I am a night owl who gets up around 8:30am when the alarm goes off because the cat needs to be fed. Even 8:30am is a stretch .... I'd rather be in bed for longer, but I have to adapt somewhat to the world as it is.

I find that my energy is inconsistent day to day and I try to be gentle with myself on the days when my energy is lower. My husband always makes me a cup of very sweet milky decaf tea (I react badly to caffeine and can rarely drink it) and then I usually drink it on the couch while I get ready mentally for the day ahead. I eat a light breakfast because if it's too heavy I'll get sleepy again! I try to write first thing in the morning -- a few paragraphs on my current work in progress, no more than an hour at the computer. Usually I will have meetings scheduled around 11 am.

This is very different from my morning routine when I worked for other people. In my 20s I existed as a disabled person in a capitalist workforce that taught me to ignore the needs of my body. That led me to burnout in my early 30s and a whole lot of shame that was taking up space that was needed for other things. My pace is much slower now but I find that I get way more done when I honor my own circadian rhythms and needs! I am privileged to work for myself where I can start the day later and then work when I have the most energy and focus.

Expand full comment
author

Oh I'm so glad to hear from you here, Allison! The idea that listening to our bodies benefits our best self--and what it costs us when we don't- is so important. But I don't always do that. Thanks for that morsel. Also: your "later" morning sounds like it means you have *way* more focus later in the day/evening. I'm more than a little jealous of that! Thanks for sharing.<3

Expand full comment
Apr 2Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

It's a great, thought-provoking prompt! I appreciate the thinking it allowed me to do.

Expand full comment
author

thank you for joining in the discussion!

Expand full comment
Mar 29Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

I'm up between 6:30 and 7, depending on the season. I go straight for tea and my writing--first journal or morning pages, then novel. I have a recurring internet blocking session that's on every morning till 8 (thinking of making it 8:30). Breakfast is 8:30 or 9, depending on what my day looks like. If I don't get time to myself in the morning, I am a very unpleasant person to be around!

Expand full comment
author

Ah, Julia! I wonder if you would wade in here with thoughts...mainly because I think of you as an anti-morning person! Sounds like things have shifted! Love the practice of an internet blocking session too. Thanks for sharing.

Expand full comment
Mar 29Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

Maybe that non-morning vibe came from overplaying that I am not a 5am-er, which I will never be! But I suppose the other thing is I don't want anybody to know I'm up early, because I don't want to talk to anyone (including my spouse!) before 8:30 !

Expand full comment
author

yep, probably! haha. Brilliant!

Expand full comment
Mar 29Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

I am a morning person. Wake early. A cuppa to start the day. Catch the local news for 20 minutes. Do my Wordle, Connecitons and Spelling Bee all before 6:30. Usually try to start the day's tasks. Breakfast around 7:00 or so and that 2nd cup of coffee while making my lists of things that I want to accomplish during the day. Dog walking and moving on with my list.

Expand full comment
author

Sounds like we have a very similar, predictable morning routine, Deb! I wonder how people who don't wake as early as we do start their day? Maybe with much more coffee??! Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Expand full comment
May 17Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

Coming from a rural/agri family sleep and idleness was not encouraged. My husband gave me a Winnie the Pooh quotation years ago, one which I don't always heed, "Nothing to do...nothing to do..What a Happy Thought". I have a ideal of what this means and celebrate it but I'm not very successful in practicing it.

Expand full comment
author

I feel that, Deb! Me neither.

Expand full comment
Apr 3Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

I'm a little late to the discussion! After a lifetime of operating in a world that is fairly structured and confining, I tend to have an idea of how I would like to start my day that would be best for me and then flow with the day to day changes as they arise. I like to wake up around 5-5:30 but my frequent mid evening/early am awakenings don't always allow for that. I try to always prioritize enough sleep no matter what as I know that will help me manage the seas of the day more than anything else. Then if there is time, I love a 10-20 min yoga session, 10 min meditation, 10 min journaling, coffee (a must!), getting ready to leave the house, and then off for the day. Again, that's the ideal set up- in a non capitalism world, it would be within a 3 hour time period...a slow start to the day that allows a natural unfolding. Even writing it sounds so ideal and refreshing to me. Love this question!

Expand full comment
author

Ooooh, I love how intentional your mornings are, Holly. The idea of a "natural unfolding" feels delicious and absolutely foreign to me! Thanks for giving me something to dream about.

Expand full comment