4 Comments
Apr 5Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

I think most people would agree that packing/moving is the worst, aside from the required purging that happens. Sending all the good vibes as you continue packing.

I am a big fan of the "lil' treat" as a motivator. When I have to work on something hard, I always try to find a way to treat myself. Sometimes it's 30 minutes of trash TV or scrolling or putting on nail polish stickers. I try not to treat myself with things that are pricey. The other thing I do which is enormously helpful is using a timer. What can I get done in 30 minutes, 15 minutes, 10 minutes? This helps keeping tough projects manageable.

p.s. I love these Friday question prompts.

Expand full comment
author

So glad you do! I love them too. And Yes to the timer idea, Gloria. I forget about that sometimes. Thank you for that...and for the good packing vibes!

Expand full comment
Apr 5Liked by Elizabeth M. Johnson

I've really come to enjoy these Friday prompts.

When I have to do hard things I break each activity down into manageable pieces, I ask for the help that I need if I have a support network that can give me help, and then I reward myself with something small and fun afterwards.

Best of luck with your packing!

Expand full comment
author

Sounds like a winning formula, Allison! Yay you! And thanks for reading and commenting. I love hearing what people come up with from these Friday questions!

Expand full comment